# THE ASSOCIATED STUDENT GOVERNMENT OF CUYAMACA COLLEGE

Cuyamaca College, Rancho San Diego Parkway, El Cajon, California, 92019

#### **Associated Student Government Meeting Minutes**

ASG Meeting- May 17, 2024

#### 12:00 PM Pacific Time

**NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN** that the **Associated Student Government of Cuyamaca College** (ASGCC) will hold a **Regular Meeting** on **May 17**, **2024**, **in I-104**. The meeting time and location are noted above. The ASGCC reserves the right to suspend the orders of the day if necessary to conduct business. All ASGCC meetings are held in locations that are wheelchair accessible. Other disability-related accommodations will be provided to persons with disabilities upon request. Persons requesting such accommodations should notify the ASG President at 619-660-4274 no less than 5 business days prior to the meeting. Please contact the ASG Secretary at 619-660-4612 for any agenda related questions.

Pursuant to Government Code Section 54957.5: supplemental materials distributed less than 72 hours before this meeting to a majority of the ASGCC will be made available for public inspection at this meeting or at the ASGCC office by appointment during normal business hours. Materials prepared by ASGCC members and distributed during the meeting are available for public inspection at the meeting or after the meeting if prepared by a non-member. Documents related to closed session items or those that are exempt from disclosure as stated in the California Public Records Act will not be made available for public inspection.

#### Order of Business

President Manuel Lopez called to order at 12:06 pm.

#### I. Roll Call

- President Manuel Lopez
- Vice President Asal Hindy
- Treasurer Brycen Brown
- Director of Public Relations Kai Griego
- ASG Senator Angel Arredondo
- ASG Senator Jose Arredondo
- ASG Senator JP Arredondo
- ASG Senator Elijah Jordan
- ASG Senator Audrey Gudino
- ASG Senator Cinthya Barron
- Dr. Lauren Vaknin
- Dr. Josh Franco
- Dr. Briseida Elenes
- Jessica

Quorum: 11 present and 7 absent. Quorum was established.

**Absent:** 

- VP Equity & Inclusion Desiree Krupenkin
- Student Trustee Courtney Etnyre
- Secretary Claudette Clark
- Director of Activities Jacqueline Rico
- ASG Senator Christopher Kazanchi

## II. Adoption of the Agenda

- ASG Senator Elijah Jordan motioned to approve the adoption of the agenda.
- ASG Senator Audrey Gudino seconded the motion.

## III. Approval of Minutes

- ASG Senator Audrey Gudino motioned to approve last week's minutes.
- Treasurer Brycen Brown seconded the motion.

#### IV. Public Comment

This time is reserved for members of the public to address the ASGCC with concern to any agenda item or matter under the ASGCC's jurisdiction. A time limit of three (3) minutes per speaker and ten (10) minutes per topic shall be observed. The law does not permit any action to be taken, nor extended discussion of any items not on the agenda. The ASGCC may briefly respond to statements made or questions posed; however, for further information, please contact the ASG Secretary for the item of discussion to be placed on a future agenda.

(Brown Act § 54954.3)

• Dr. Briseida Elenes (Introduction & Student Career Services)

## V. Reports of Officers (3 minutes per officer)

- A. Manuel Lopez, ASG President
- B. Asal Hindy, Executive Vice President
- C. Desiree Krupenkin, VP Equity & Inclusion
- D. Courtney Etnyre, Student Trustee
- E. Brycen Brown, Treasurer
- F. Claudette Clark, Secretary
- G. Kai Griego, Director of Public Relations
- H. Jacqueline Rico, Director of Activities
- I. Vacant, Club Coordinator
- J. Angel Arredondo, ASG Senator

- K. Jose Arredondo, ASG Senator
- L. Christopher Kazanchi, ASG Senator
- M. Jennifer Attou, ASG Senator
- N. Audrey Gudino, ASG Senator
- O. Cinthya Barron, ASG Senator
- P. JP Arredondo, ASG Senator
- Q. Elijah Jordan, ASG Senator
- R. Lauren Vaknin, ASG Advisor

#### V1. Check in- Wellness

## **V11. Student Committee Appointments**

A1: Appointment of Manny Lopez to serve as the Region X Delegate to the Student Senate effective May 17, 2024-May 30, 2025.

- ASG Senator Elijah Jordan motioned to approve.
- ASG Senator JP Arredondo seconded the motion.

A2: Appointment of JP Arredondo to serve as the Region X Alternate Delegate to the Student Senate effective May 17, 2024-May 30, 2025.

- Treasurer Brycen Brown motioned to approve.
- ASG Senator Cinthya Barron seconded the motion.

A3: Appointment of Manny Lopez to serve as the student representative on the CTC Committee effective May 9, 2024-May 30, 2025.

- A4. Appointment of Brycen Brown to serve on the Student Conduct & Grievance Committee effective May 9, 2024-May 30, 2025.
- A5. Appointment of Manny Lopez to serve on the Student Conduct & Grievance Committee effective May 9, 2024-May 30, 2025.
- A6. Appointment of JP Arredondo to serve on the Student Conduct & Grievance Committee effective May 9, 2024-May 30, 2025.
- A7. Appointment of Cinthya Barron to serve on the Student Conduct & Grievance Committee effective May 9, 2024-May 30, 2025.
- A8. Appointment of Jacqueline Rico to serve on the Student Conduct & Grievance Committee effective May 9, 2024-May 30, 2025.
- A9. Appointment of Maya Musa to serve on the Student Conduct & Grievance Committee effective May 9, 2024-May 30, 2025.

A10. Appointment of Keanu Huezo to serve on the Student Conduct & Grievance Committee effective May 9, 2024-May 30, 2025.

- President Manuel Lopez motioned to group Student Committee Appointments A3 A10.
- ASG Senator JP Arrendondo approved the motion.
- ASG Senator Audrey Gudino seconded the motion.
- President Manuel Lopez motioned to approve all students to serve on the Student Conduct & Grievance Committee.
- ASG Senator Cinthya Barron approved the motion.
- ASG Senator Audrey Gudino seconded the motion.

## **VIII. Reports of Special Committees**

## **VIIII. Reports of College Committee Representatives**

## X. Special Orders

#### X11. Unfinished Business

#### X11. New Business

A1: Approval of the Music Club.

- ASG Senator Elijah Jordan approved the Music Club.
- ASG Senator Cinthya Barron seconded the motion.

A2: Allocation of \$87.27 to purchase the plaques (Student Organization of the Year, Student Leader of the Year, and Civic Engagement Leader of the Year) for the ASG Leadership awards on May 10, 2024.

- ASG Senator Audrey Gudino approved the motion.
- ASG Senator Elijah Jordan seconded the motion.

A3: Allocation of \$250.00 for the giveaways at Photo Day.

- ASG Senator Audrey Gudino approved the motion.
- ASG Senator Elijah Jordan seconded the motion.

A4: Allocation of \$350.00 monthly stipend for the ASG President effective May 17, 2024 to June 1, 2025.

- ASG Senator Audrey Gudino approved the motion.
- Director of Public Relations Kai Griego seconded the motion.

A5: Allocation of \$125.00 monthly stipend for the Director of Public Relations effective May 17, 2024-August 17, 2024.

- Director of Public Relations Kai Griego approved the motion.
- ASG Senator Cinthya Barron seconded the motion.

A6: Discussion of ASG Stipends for officers (2024-2025).

A7: Allocation of \$50 stipend per hour to serve as mascot.

- ASG Senator Audrey Gudino approved the motion.
- Treasurer Brycen Brown seconded the motion.

A8: Transition of ASG President Lopez to incoming President Brown

• This transition occurred at 12:51 pm.

This time is reserved for the ASGCC to informally discuss any topics that do not appear on the agenda and do not require action to be taken. A limit of five (5) minutes per speaker and ten (10) minutes per topic shall be enforced. If any item needs further discussion or action, please contact the ASG Secretary for the item to be placed on future agendas.

• Dr. Josh Franco (Introduction & Summer Course Enrollment)

## VI. Adjournment

President Brycen Brown adjourned the meeting at 1:03 pm.